THIS UNWANTED GARBAGE ORIGINATED FROM AND BROUGHT TO YOU COURTESY OF:
PATRICK PARIS -- PEDOPHILE
PATRICK PARIS -- FAILED HUMAN BEING
PATRICK PARIS -- HATEFUL SCUMBAG
PATRICK PARIS -- SHITBAG
On Fri, 21 Oct 2005, "Jeffrey F. Bloss" <jbloss@tampabay.mapson.rr.com> wrote:
Thrasher Remailer wrote:
Champerty was a good guy with pasionate views on anonymity. He also had
a short fuse.
I don't blame him when he was dealing with the second worst remop ever.
I'd rather have Champerty than a dozen psychotic Frogs.
Did you mean...
"I'd rather have a dozen Champerty's than one psychotic Fog."
;)
Come to think of it, any statement of the form
I would rather have X Champerties than Y psychotic Frogs
is true for all positive integer values of X and Y.
<<==========>>
Subject: says Mauro Pallotta a
anything Or do you
consider me pointing out
that you wont see any of
the messages from
remailers have been
ABUSEThink about it
American society has
become so degraded that
motherfuckeris now a
consider me pointing out
term of endearment
Unfortunately the US
seems to have a
largeinfluence on other
Western countries and I
dont doubt that
motherfuckeris also a
term of endearment in
many other nations or is
at leastconsidered a
benign word of greeting
and referenceAs it
stands now I see no stats
source choice especially if
they agree with you that
clients were anonymous to
him Now they must be
identified by first and last
name He must also
document which computer
they use as well as their
login and logout
says Mauro Pallotta a
young artist after
checking his email at
Savonis cafe APAS is a
control system like
Americas Patriot Act he
says Groups like the
attentionI did some
reading but really nothing
that made sense Im
really not worried about
lawsuits because Im not
doing anything illegal or
anything that stirs up
trouble I personally will
probably never even say
anything important enough
to get someone mad at
meBut thats dog eat dog
capitalism for you Woe on
whomever tries to escape
<<==========>>
Subject: Re: Twistycreek re-mailer open to public
Hash: SHA1
On Sat, 15 Oct 2005 23:30:05 +0200 (CEST), Nomen Nescio <nobody@dizum.com>
wrote:
Snipped
I thought you had a static IP now, not some 10.x.x.x crap? Or is
the static IP on the WAN side of the router? If so, no 10.x.x.x
traffic should be coming in to your network (the router should
be able to stop it and the ISP shouldn't be routing it to you in
the first place).
Anyway, block ports 135-139 and 445 at the router. All virus
stuff.
I have everything blocked except port 25 which is forwarded.
I have a static IP. The new modem is a combination modem/router. You are
correct, the static IP is on the WAN side. I have 4 other computers
connected to it. 1 laptop by wireless so I have a wireless router plugged
in to one of the ports. The 3 others are direct connected to the router.
The re-mailer has a fixed IP while I let the other 2 receive their
addresses
by DHCP. The wireless laptop receives a 192.168.0.2 DHCP address from the
wireless router. The others all have 10.1.10.xxx IPs.
I have the re-mailer PC separated by giving it a different workgroup name.
So though it is on the network, I can't "see" it from the other computers.
To access the router, I have to type in 10.1.10.1 which brings up the login
page for the router. I set the re-mailer PC to a fixed IP. I let the other
PCs get their IPs from the router by DHCP. The router itself has a built in
firewall which I enabled. Then each computer has a McAffee
virus/securitycenter/firewall combination on it.
The only one that gets pinged is this one, the re-mailer. Things slowed
down once I blocked everything including the router. I am surprised it
still works at all.
As of this morning, I have had no more repeat pings. The ones listed below
are the last.
I just don't know how I can get pinged or whatever from the same address as
my router. I thought a real Domain IP should show up. Again, I am far from
the expert so would really like to know how this can be done. Seems pretty
tricky. I just don't like the name Blackhole. Gives me the shudders. I sure
know what a "blacklist" is and blackhole and blacklist are somewhat
synonymous. A Google search of the terms brings up pages that describe them
in kind.
I picked out the last 3 of about 12 or more total.
Here they are.
__________________________________________
2005/10/15 10:06:26 10.1.10.1:0 (mail.brianbinder.com) 10.1.10.200:0 ICMP
Ping
2005/10/15 10:12:35 10.1.10.1:0 (mail.brianbinder.com) 10.1.10.200:0 ICMP
Ping
2005/10/15 16:26:11 10.1.10.95:68 (ANONYMOUS) 255.255.255.255:67 Bootstrap
Protocol Server
__________________________________________
All trace routes come back to the below though the map part of the trace
route does not show anything.
Maybe this is all OK and they just happened to pick bad names for their
servers. BLACKHOLE? Yuuch!!!
Sender ANONYMOUS? Why not a real name?
Reminds me of Carnivore. Some stealth project :) A bad pick for a name at
any case. Great for a re-mailer though :)
__________________________________________
OrgName: Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
OrgID: IANA
Address: 4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
City: Marina del Rey
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 90292-6695
Country: US
NetRange: 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
CIDR: 10.0.0.0/8
NetName: RESERVED-10
NetHandle: NET-10-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: IANA Special Use
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-1.IANA.ORG
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-2.IANA.ORG
Comment: This block is reserved for special purposes.
Comment: Please see RFC 1918 for additional information.
Comment:
RegDate:
Updated: 2002-09-12
OrgAbuseHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number
OrgAbusePhone: +1-310-301-5820
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@iana.org
OrgTechHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgTechName: Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number
OrgTechPhone: +1-310-301-5820
OrgTechEmail: abuse@iana.org
__________________________________________
The part that disturbs me is from the website. It says:
__________________________________________
Special-Use Addresses
Several address ranges are reserved for "Special Use". These addresses all
have restrictions of some sort placed on their use, and in general should
not appear in normal use on the public Internet. The following briefly
documents these addresses – in general they are used in specialized
technical contexts. They are described in more detail in RFC 3330.
"Private Use" IP addresses:
10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255
The above address blocks are reserved for use on private networks, and
should never appear in the public Internet. There are hundreds of thousands
of such private networks (for example home firewalls sometimes make use of
them). The IANA has no record of who uses these address blocks. Anyone may
use these address blocks within their own network without any prior
notification to IANA.
The point of private address space is to allow many organizations in
different places to use the same addresses, and as long as these
disconnected or self-contained islands of IP-speaking computers (private
intranets) are not connected, there is no problem. If you see an apparent
attack, or spam, coming from one of these address ranges, then either it is
coming from your local environment, or the address has been "spoofed".
__________________________________________
This part gets me:
"If you see an apparent attack, or spam, coming from one of these address
ranges, then either it is coming from your local environment, or the
address has been "spoofed". "
So, in the end, am I getting spoofed by a hacker, or by my own
cablemodem/router?
My read is that IPs of 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 should never appear on the
Internet. Why then should a ping or anything else come from that address
range and show up in my firewall log? Why would trace route take me back to
their site? Why would my modem use names like mail.brianbinder.com and
ANONYMOUS? Those names don't exist on any of the other PCs.
In the end, I am just puzzled. Forgive me if I tend to lean toward the
extremely cautious side of things, but this is a re-mailer. I take
operating it very seriously and believe I should do my best to protect it
to the point of erring towards the paranoid :) It is a new
cablemodem/router so I don't know what to expect out of it.
If someone can tell me what this is about, I would indeed be grateful.
Until I know more, I'll leave things as they lay. It seems to be working
OK, so if it isn't broken, don't fix it :) And, the pings have stopped :)
Regards all
BTW, I tried to answer this late last night but just plain messed something
up.